Schengen Convention:

After the implementation of Schengen conference in 1990, 22 European countries and EFTA members launched a movement to allow population of certain countries to travel freely and earn their livelihood in the included countries.

Countries Part of Schengen Zone:

Areas which fall in to Schengen mostly cover European countries excluding United Kingdom. Other countries which have made vow are Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Ireland. Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein are not part of European Union but also enjoy the same policies as Schengen zone giving people the freedom to immigrate and live life.

Same due respect and rights are given to the members holding Schengen citizenship they can travel freely across the Schengen countries without any much of official visa formalities. But these laws can be bended if a person is suspicious or is involved in any illegal activity or is under police observation in the country he is prevailing in. otherwise laws are pretty liberal for law abiding citizen.

Rules For Countries Not Members of Schengen Zone:

Countries which are not member of Schengen Area to travel to them it is essential to fulfil the visa formalities and get a visa to enter in there zone. Citizens of the following countries are required to get Schengen visa for them to cross the threshold to its member countries.

Rules to Enter a Schengen Zone:

Citizens holding Schengen nationality of the countries being part of European Union and also the countries which are not members of Schengen zone but follow the same rules do not allow you to stay for more the time framed allowed by the authorities. In order to stay longer one is required to go through a legal process. As mentioned above the time frame is of 90 days in a half year to stay in any Schengen country. A very important fact which one should know is Schengen visa does not allow you to work or study in that country. Rules are different for some countries although they might possess Schengen visa but at the same time they are required to go through an airport transit visa formalities from one country to another.

Dual- Nationals:

Rules are bit different for people having dual nationalities of few countries are not required to go through an airport transit check even for the above mentioned countries. The terms include if a person has a residency permit from a Schengen member country, if the person need to stay longer or shorter. Similar rules apply on people having citizenship of countries such as, Andorra, Canada, Japan, San Marino or the USA and the country gives oath of their good behavior can avail the same rights.

Rules for Family Members:

People having family members possessing Schengen nationality might help in reducing time frame in which you might get visa or in becoming a EU/ EEA national. This law is not always applicable for that you have to meet certain criteria. Things which should be kept in mind are one should a direct family member such as wife, son, daughter and one be less then 21 of the EU/EEA citizen.

Citizens having Dual Natinalities:

People having two passports as being dual nationals for them visa formalities and rules differ with the passport they plan to travel with. In case you choose to travel with nationality passport you are then required to undergo all the visa requirements of Schengen zone. What so ever the reason might be.

One having dual passport that allows you live freely and travel in Schengen zone without any problem of legal work. These people can travel in Schengen countries while holding a residency permit any for every three months in half a year. In order to obtain D visa one has to have valid reason.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *