A Complete Insight into the Schengen Agreement | Foreign Policy

A Complete Insight into the Schengen Agreement

If you are planning a visit to any Schengen state member and are a citizen of Schengen country; there is good news for you. You can visit the country absolutely visa-free. All general visa requirements are applicable to people who seek a visa to Schengen countries but if you are a Schengen state member country resident – you do not require to apply for Visa. The access to the country will be completely free-of-cost with no hassle involved at all. You can get more Schengen Information.

A Complete Insight into the Schengen Agreement

Schengen Member Countries:

In totality, there are total twenty-six member countries that are part of the Schengen agreement. Out of the 26 member countries, there are 22 countries that are completely abiding by all territory rules. However, 4 out of the 26 countries are only partially implementing the policies as a member of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). Three out of the total member countries are also not members of the European Union.

Schengen Agreement:

The Schengen agreement was finalized when many countries became a member of the territory and there was a planned required promoting free travel between internal borders of linked countries. The agreement was initially signed by only 5 member countries i.e. France, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, and Luxemburg. Later onwards, all details relevant to the control of external borders were also finalized.

Pioneer Countries:

There are two countries that are termed as the pioneers of the Schengen Agreement. France and Germany are one of the top countries that became a part of the European Union and later on became the first countries to implement the Schengen Agreement strategies. It was in 1984 that both these countries began to implement the laws and encourage visa-free travel between all member countries.

Gradual Progress:

Despite a total of 26 countries being a member of the Schengen agreement and all members of the European Union as well; expect for three countries i.e. Switzerland, Norway, and Iceland – the Schengen Agreement did not become completely applicable till the later part of 1995. In present date, all Schengen member countries’ embassies have an obligation to abide by the agreement.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *